1. K-State home
  2. »BRI
  3. »About Us
  4. »BRI Research Fellows

Biosecurity Research Institute

Marty Vanier and Bob Krause BRI Research Fellows

The Marty Vanier and Bob Krause BRI Research Fellows Program recognizes principal investigators with ongoing projects at the Biosecurity Research Institute. The program's purpose is to foster interdisciplinary research, educational opportunities, and activities associated with research the fellows are doing in areas such as high-consequence plant and animal diseases, foodborne disease agents, arthropod-borne diseases, and pathogens that can be passed from animals to humans. On April 29, 2016, the scientists pictured below were named Marty Vanier and Bob Krause BRI Research Fellows.BRI Research Fellows

Front row: Raymond (Bob) Rowland, Dana Vanlandingham, Stephen Higgs, D. Scott McVey, Barbara Valent, Jishu Shi. Back row: Steven Eckels, William Wilson, Juergen Richt, William Bockus, James Stack, Kenneth Burton, Randy Phebus.

Marty Vanier and Bob Krause Biosecurity Research Institute Research Fellows

  • Stephen Higgs, Director of the Biosecurity Research Institute and Assoc. Vice Pres. for Research
  • Megan Niederwerder,  Assistant Professor of Diagnostic Medicine and Pathobiology
  • Randall K. Phebus, Professor of Animal Sciences & Industry
  • Juergen A. Richt, Regents Distinguished Professor of Diagnostic Medicine & Pathobiology
  • Jishu Shi, Professor of Anatomy &  Physiology
  • James P. Stack, Professor of Plant Pathology
  • Barbara Valent, Distinguished Professor of Plant Pathology
  • Dana L. Vanlandingham, Associate Professor of Diagnostic Medicine & Pathobiology
  • William C. Wilson, Research Leader, USDA, ARS, Arthropod-Borne Animal Diseases Research, CGAHR

BRI Research Fellows Lecture Series

A highlight of the BRI Research Fellows Program is an ongoing lecture series. Well-known and highly respected scientists who have achieved excellence in their field are invited to campus to present a seminar for the benefit of K-State students, faculty, and staff. To date, the following have been invited and presented lectures.